
Vercel has added Google’s Gemini 3.7 Flash to AI Gateway, giving developers another model for coding and agentic workflows while cutting its cost by 50% through December 31, 2026.
The August 13 changelog announcement positions the model as a faster, more economical option for applications that need to make repeated model and tool calls. Developers can access it using Vercel’s existing gateway and AI SDK integrations rather than opening a separate provider account.
A Model Aimed at Coding Agents
According to Vercel, Gemini 3.7 Flash improves on earlier Flash models in software engineering and agentic work. The company says it resolves issues more reliably and is less likely to become trapped in failed agent loops.
That distinction matters for builders running long, multi-step workflows. An agent might inspect a codebase, call several tools, modify files and test its work before returning an answer. A failure early in that sequence can waste the tokens and compute already consumed, while also forcing the application to restart or recover the run.
Vercel also says the model can generate desktop and web application code directly from design mockups, with closer adherence to the original design. That could make it relevant to small teams prototyping interfaces or turning approved screens into working code, though Vercel’s brief announcement does not provide benchmarks or direct comparisons with competing models.
The broader AI Gateway proposition remains consistent. Through the gateway, teams can call supported models with:
- One API key, without creating a separate account with the model provider
- Automatic fallbacks for improving application resilience
- Spend tracking for monitoring model costs
- Request traces for investigating model calls and failures
These controls can become more useful as an application adds multiple models. They give developers a central layer for routing and monitoring requests rather than maintaining separate integrations and operational tooling for each provider.
Switching Models Requires a Small Code Change
Gemini 3.7 Flash is available through Vercel’s AI SDK using the model identifier google/gemini-3.7-flash. Vercel’s example passes that identifier to the streamText function:
import { streamText } from 'ai';
const result = streamText({
model: 'google/gemini-3.7-flash',
prompt: 'Build a settings page from this design mock.',
});
For teams already using AI Gateway and the AI SDK, the practical benefit is model portability. They can select Gemini 3.7 Flash at the application level without replacing their gateway integration. That makes it easier to test the model against existing prompts and workflows, then compare its output quality, latency and total run cost with other supported options.
The temporary discount may also make more extensive evaluation affordable. However, Vercel has only stated that the model is 50% off through December 31, 2026. The announcement does not specify a special plan requirement, a discount code or what pricing will apply after the promotion ends.
For small businesses building support assistants, internal automation or code-generation products, the update is less about gaining access to a single model than gaining another option behind a shared operational layer. The key question will be whether Gemini 3.7 Flash’s claimed reliability in long tool-calling sequences translates into fewer failed runs in production.
Frequently asked questions
What is Vercel AI Gateway?
Vercel AI Gateway is a service for accessing and routing calls to supported AI models through one integration. It provides one API key, automatic fallbacks, spend tracking and request traces, reducing the need to manage each model provider separately.
How can developers use Gemini 3.7 Flash through AI Gateway?
Developers using Vercel’s AI SDK can set the model field to google/gemini-3.7-flash. Vercel says no separate provider account is required when the model is called through AI Gateway.
How long is Gemini 3.7 Flash discounted?
Vercel says Gemini 3.7 Flash is available through AI Gateway at 50% off until December 31, 2026. The announcement does not state what price will apply after that date or identify any plan-specific eligibility requirements.
Sources
1 checkedHow we cover tool news: Create With's tool desk drafts these reports with AI from the sources listed above and checks them against those sources before publishing.







